Monday, January 6, 2014

Missouri Writers’ Guild President’s Contests Open for Submission

Some of the most coveted awards by Missouri Writers’ Guild members are the President’s contests awards, which will again be awarded at the 2014 MWG conference to be held April 11-13, 2014 at the St. Louis Ramada Inn/Downtown St. Louis.

Now is the time to enter. All entries to the MWG President’s contests for the 2014 MWG conference will be accepted from January 1 to January 31, 2014 only. So, get those entries submitted.

The MWG conference committee and MWG board members would like to thank each of the sponsors for sponsoring the 2014 President’s contests! Below is a listing of each category and its sponsor.

Walter Williams Major Work Award
Sponsored by Missouri Center for the Book
This should be a major work whether in book form or in some other form of publication, a work considered to be worthy of special recognition because of the research or high literary quality involved in its creation. This award is open to any type of publication or production, including fiction, nonfiction, scripts, poetry (as in a poetry collection in a book), books and anthologies (if sole author or editor). Please note that self-published works are not eligible for this category.

Best Newspaper Article or Column
Sponsored by Missouri Press Association

Best Magazine Article
Sponsored by Missouri Life Magazine

Best Anthology
Sponsored by Blank Slate Press

Best Poem
Sponsored by Mozark Press

“Show Me” Best Book Award
Sponsored by Blank Slate Press
Book-length works of fiction, including juvenile, or nonfiction, as well as books of poetry are accepted.


The Walter Williams awards are as follows: first place receives $100, second place $50, and third place $25. Honorable mentions may be named at the discretion of the judges. First place will also receive a plaque.

Awards for Best Newspaper Article, Magazine Article, Anthology and Best Poem are: First place receives $50, second place receives $25, and third place receives $15. Honorable mentions may be named at the discretion of the judges.

If there are fewer than six entries in any category, except for the Walter Williams Award, no
prizes will be given in that category unless in the judges’ opinion, the work submitted is of such quality as to merit recognition. Similarly, the Walter Williams Award may be withheld if in the opinion of the judges, no material of sufficient literary merit is submitted.

How to Submit
  • President's contests are open only to Guild members whose dues are paid in full.
  • Entry fee per category is $10. 
  • Only one entry per category please.
  • Submissions must be postmarked by Jan. 31, 2014.
All entries for any of the President’s contests should be mailed to:

Missouri Writers’ Guild President’s Contest
c/o Steve Wiegenstein, President
4700 Roemer Rd.
Columbia, MO 65202

Please include sufficient postage!

For the complete contest rules and submission guidelines, visit the MWG conference contest website. Also, for any further questions, please contact Steve Wiegenstein at Put MWG Contest in the subject line of the email.

And last but not least, check out the Chapter and Sponsor contests that are open for submissions until March 1, 2014!

No comments:

Post a Comment